ESF has a strong and balanced governance structure that effectively enables a variety of stakeholders to participate in the decision-making process.

ESF Board of Governors

The ESF Board of Governors has overall responsibility for managing ESF’s affairs, maintaining its educational standards and administering its property portfolio. Its principal functions include working with the Chief Executive Officer to establish strategic direction, review the overall curriculum strategy for all schools and ensure the efficient use of resources.

The Board is responsible for ensuring effective communication between parents and staff and for maintaining procedures for the recruitment, retention, management, development and support of all employees. Its responsibilities also include selecting and appraising the performance of the Chief Executive Officer and approving the appointment of all senior staff.

The Board is supported by a number of committees, including standing committees for Remuneration, Audit and Finance.

The Board of Governors is broadly constituted and includes ten independent members, seven directly elected parent members, one Committee of Parents Governor, three School Council Chairmen, four members of staff (including a principal) and the Chief Executive Officer (ex officio).

Click here to view the current membership of the ESF Board of Governors.

School Councils

Each ESF primary, secondary and private independent school has a school council in accordance with the resolutions of the Board of Governors. Within this framework, the main responsibilities include working with the Principal to establish a strategic direction, approving the curriculum, ensuring that the needs of students are met and approving the annual budget. School councils are also responsible for approving senior appointments, implementing effective procedures for staff management and development and, most importantly, appraising the performance of the Principal.

Each school council which comprises a Chairman and representatives of parents, teachers, support staff and the wider community, as well as the Chief Executive’s representative.

Glenealy School Council

Independent Members

  • Lusan Hung (School Council Chair)
  • Pierre Herbst

Parent Members

  • Rashida Mithaiwala (PTA Chair)
  • Emma Royal

Staff Members

  • Kerry Ngao (Teacher Rep)
  • Nia Sexton (Teacher Rep)
  • Dipa Iyer (Support Staff Rep)

School Principal (ex officio)

  • Christopher Coyle

ESF CEO (ex officio)

  • Belinda Greer
  • Charles Caldwell (CEOs nominated representative)

Committees and Meetings

School Council Committees

Members of the GS School Council work actively as part of committees in key areas of the School’s operations. These committees assist the school to carry out its functions more efficiently and effectively by handling matters that require considerable discussion, development or planning outside of formal meetings. Each School Council committee reports back to the School Council on items discussed, any action taken under previously delegated power and action recommended for the Council’s decision making.

GS committees are as follows:
  • Review staffing needs, attrition rates and appointment process
  • Oversee the disciplinary and grievance procedure
  • Oversee the staff professional development plan and hiring for SMT
  • Recommend draft annual budget plan and capex plan 
  • Monitor expenditure against budget
  • Review other income generation activities and procurement policies and practices to ensure good value for money
Facilities/Health and Safety
  • Evaluate and anticipate any risks (physical, environment, chemical, vehicle, weather etc)
  • Ensure compliance with ESF health and safety policy and regulations
  • Special projects (e.g. facilities development, facilities rental programmes)